Who am I?
Hi! I’m Alexa Hoyle, a sophomore journalism student at UMass Amherst. I’m a voracious reader and passionate writer and have found that if I have to do anything for the rest of my life it’s going to be writing. I’m starting this blog as a way to hone my multimedia and writing skills…i.e. to try and get a job someday.

As a writer I should probably be a little better about writing about myself – but I don’t think anybody ever really gets used to that. A little about me is that I’m from Southwick, Massachusetts, a small rural town in Western Mass. It is not the place for me. Rural? Suburbs? Not where I belong. One of my biggest life plans is to make my way to Boston or New York someday. I know it sounds cliche, but I need to follow what’s right for me – and being in a small town is not right for me or my journalism aspirations

Why am I starting this blog?
Through the experience of starting and up-keeping this blog I hope to learn more about conversational writing and connecting with an audience. I’ve always prided myself on being a good writer, but my journalistic skills could use some help. I’m hoping that this blog can help with learning the responsibility of updating something regularly or meeting deadlines for blog posts – both skills I’m going to need for a future job.

What do I want to do with my future?
Speaking of future jobs, I’d really like to get one. But on a more serious note, I have quite strong convictions about what I want to do with my future. Ideally I would like to work for a magazine and find myself as an editor someday. I’d be lying if I said I could see myself as a reporter for a newspaper like The Republican in the future; I’d be much more in my element being able to take time on stories like a magazine allows. But, to be honest, as long as I’m getting paid to write and do something I love, I’ll be pretty happy.

That’s all there really is to say about me, if you want to know anything else just comment and ask! And feel free to follow me on Twitter!

